Call for a National Day of Prayer – April 23, 2020

April 17, 2020 - On behalf of the Anishinaabe Nation in Treaty 3 and the Grand Council, I am requesting that April 23, 2020 be recognized as a National Day of Prayer. The COVID-19 pandemic has impacted all people across Mother Earth and in these dire times our prayers and ceremonies can be a powerful source of strength and reassurance. All people, regardless of religion, faith, denomination, or belief system are encouraged to join us in this Day of Prayer while maintaining physical distancing guidelines. We all have our ways of giving thanks to Creation and in the spirit of reconciliation as a community of nations, sharing our faith can bring us closer together at a time when we are forced to be apart. I hope that in our time of need we can all find comfort and solace in our connection to Creation, our ancestors, and the world around us. The National Day of Prayer will include a synchronized moment of prayer to commence simultaneously across Turtle Island according to regional time zones: 12:30 p.m. Newfoundland Daylight Time 12:00 p.m. Atlantic Daylight Time 11:00 a.m. Eastern Daylight Time 10:00 a.m. Central Daylight Time 9:00 a.m. Central Standard Time and Mountain Daylight Time 8:00 a.m. Pacific Daylight Time I ask that you can join me alongside the citizens, Chiefs and Councils, pipe carriers, bundle and knowledge keepers, and the staff of Grand Council Treaty 3 to pray for the wellbeing of our loved ones during this pandemic. Miigwech, Ogichidaa, Francis Kavanaugh
Grand Chief
Grand Council Treaty #3 (PDF) April-17-2020-Call-for-a-National-Day-of-Prayer-April-23-2020

Chiefs of Ontario

New information is released daily. Subscribe to be notified of latest COVID-19 updates and resources.

©2020 by Chiefs of Ontario.