Chiefs of Ontario - MEMORANDUM: Emergency Measures Update

TO: First Nation Leadership

FROM: Tracy Antone, Chief Operating Officer

DATE: June 10, 2020

RE: COVID-19 – Emergency Measures Update – Chiefs of Ontario

With the ever-changing updates and concerns of COVID-19; this memorandum will serve to advise that the Chiefs of Ontario office in Toronto will now be closed until September 1, 2020.


We have within our office, established a Health and Safety Committee to begin discussions on our re-opening in phases during the last few weeks. We have recently received a news report that Mayor John Tory requests Employers to consider not opening until September based on the information coming out regarding the pandemic and the numbers of people with the virus currently in Toronto. Toronto is considered the epi-centre of the pandemic.


With this in mind, we met with the Chiefs of Ontario Board of Directors on June 4, 2020 to request that the Chiefs of Ontario continue to stay closed and to ensure the health and safety of our staff. The Board has accepted this recommendation and therefore we will continue to operate as we have been with staff working from home during this time.


Staff will be working from home and following up on all queries from Leadership.


Below are the Directors names and emails should you wish to contact them:


Tracy Antone, Chief Operating Officer: tracy@coo.org


Kathleen Padulo, Director of Environment: Kathleen.Padulo@coo.org


Denise Lofstrom, Director of Education: Denise.Lofstrom@coo.org


Scott Cavan, Director of Communications and Federal Affairs: Scott.Cavan@coo.org


Barret Dokis, Director of Policy and Provincial Affairs: Barret.Dokis@coo.org


Carmen Jones, Director of Health: Carmen.Jones@coo.org


Ruby Miller, Director of Social: Ruby.Miller@coo.org


We of course will be re-evaluating the situation over the summer months.


Thank you.



Chiefs of Ontario

New information is released daily. Subscribe to be notified of latest COVID-19 updates and resources.

©2020 by Chiefs of Ontario.